Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

North-East Asian Marine Protected Areas Network

NEASPEC has operated the North-East Asian Marine Protected Areas Network (NEAMPAN) since 2013, with a goal to establish an effective, functional representative network of Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) in the subregion for conservation of marine and coastal biodiversity and more efficient MPA management. This subregional MPA network acts as a key subregional platform for information sharing, joint assessment, monitoring, as well as partnership with other regional and global MPA networks. 


Target MPAs are selected by each member State in line with the Network’s objectives. As of 2021, a total of 12 sites have been nominated, including six from China, one from Japan, three from the Republic of Korea and two from the Russian Federation. 





Related SDGs

Climate action sdg  Life below water sdg

join neampan